top of page

Getting back in the groove...

It's coming on Autumn, perhaps my favorite time of year... I love the crisp feeling in the air, the golden leaves, the hearty food and warming drinks, and the comfy clothes that come with it. It's also been a time of inspiration for me. My imagination starts filling up with the colors and associations of current season, and secretly looks forward to the first snowflakes and festive times.

Since I've moved to the UK, I've been very caught up with starting my acting career, and my energies have been mostly directed towards that goal. I'm happy with how that's been progressing, but I've noticed that my artwork has been getting pushed aside far too often. True, I've made more greeting cards and gifts than ever before, but they're not the same as just sitting down and letting my pencil play and seeing what happens next.

SO, I've made the decision to set aside several evenings a week for my art. The result? In one week, I've finished two pieces. One is a lighthearted sketch based on an old drawing I found in my files. My husband and I practice yoga several times a week, and the sweet humor of it invited me to revisit it.

My second drawing turned into a full illustration... I started with another idea in a sketchbook from years ago. I loved the idea of a jellyfish mermaid, and my original sketch was sweet, but wasn't spectacular enough for me to really feel like it deserved the full treatment (ink, color, etc).

So, I opened a new project in Photoshop and started on a new jellyfish mermaid. I started with the face, as I think it's the most important part of the piece, as it sets the whole tone of the piece and often informs everything that comes next.

Once I'd inked her face, I knew she was going to be dramatic. She demanded that I spend time on her, give her great hair, a fabulous dress, and lots of jellyfish attendants to boot. Three evenings later, she was done!

This drawing has made me realize that I need more of this in my life. I enjoyed the challenge, and now that I'm done, I want more. I'll keep updating the website with whatever new pieces come out, so keep checking back to see what's new! If you're connected via social media, you can now find me on Twitter (@RMarquezArtist) and Facebook.

As always, feel free to send me an e-mail if you have a commission for me!

See you soon!

Rachel <3

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Pinterest Social Icon
bottom of page